Thank You Paul Konerko

paul_konerko_chicago_white_sox_studio_portrait_plus_photofileTrying to find a positive today I decided it was time to write this.

I know that my sorority sisters are going to struggle with your departure and I wanted to give them something to help ease the pain, help them celebrate your time at the Sox. So, Here goes:

Dear Paulie

As the season is heading towards the close, it is time for us to prepare to find our own ways of saying “Thanks” for all that you have given the the club and to the fans. Captain as we call you in the sorority, you have given us some wonderful memories to cherish in the coming months and years.

I was looking at some of your pictures on the net from over the years and what a  great career, my Sisters and I would love to be able to sit down with you and ask you questions about your time in the Majors, I would love to ask you about the World Series and what that has meant to you.

We are excited for you as you make the change from ball player to Dad.  I bet the kids will love having you home on a regular basis and you can do all those Dad things that you have missed out on.

You have said you don’t want a big fuss made or anything, but you will have a stadium full of fans who want or need to show you how much you ave mean to them. Through the good stuff and even when times got tough.

I know what you mean to my sisters, you have become their anchor when times are tough, you have lifted their spirits when they are down.

I know what it is like when your favorite player leaves, they were there for when Jake got traded and now it is my turn to be there for them. All I can do is to give them words on a screen and remind them I have their back they always have an ear when they need it.

Thank you Captain for all you  have done, for your career and we can  not wait for the day you make it to Cooperstown. We will be there cheering you as they say ” Welcome to Cooperstown, Paul Konerko

Love from all of us

ChiSoxSisters Sorority

 

Photo courtesy of MLB.com

 

Leave a Reply

