Home Run Derby 2014

2014_Twins_All-Star_Game_LogoOne of the highlights of the All Star Break is the Home Run Derby. This year at Target Field in Minnesota.  This is a lot of fun and good to see the guys who are normally really series have some giggles.

Captains for this years teams are: Jose Bautista from the Toronto Blue Jays for the American League and Troy Tulowitzki from the Colorado Rockies for the National League. They both extended invites from their respective leagues.

Things have been changed up this year and it took me a bit to get my head around the changes. It should make things even more interesting. I don’t think there will be a clear-cut winner this year. I wish that Jose Abreu had gone but he felt it was not for him and his first priority is to the Chicago White Sox.

*Round One — Batting order will be determined prior to the event. The first hitter for the National League will be followed by the American Leagues first hitter and so on til all batters have had a go. They have 7 outs to work with. The player from each league who hits the most homers will advance to the third round.( 1 N.L and 1 A.L) The next two batters in the 2 and 3 position, will advance to the second round.

*Round Two — National League will bat first, the number 2 batters will decide if they want to bat first or second, 7 outs again to work with. Round two winners, one from each league will move on to round three

*Round Three — The top three from each league will battle it out for a place in the finals. Batter from each league with the most homers will advance to the finals.

America League joining Bautista are Brian Dozier from Minnesota, Adam Jones from Baltimore, Yoenis Cespedes (Defending Champion) and Josh Donaldson both from Oakland.

National League joining Tulowitzki are Todd Frazier from Cincinnati, Yasiel Puig,from LA Dodgers Giancarlo Stanton from the Miami and Justin Morneau from Colorado.

Frazier  up first – 2 homers with 427 his longest, Dozier  – 2 homers with 372 is longest, Tulowitzki – 4 homers, with 402 his longest, Bautista – 10 homers, with 428 his longest, Puig – 0 homers, Jones – 4 homers with 426 his longest, Stanton – 6 homers with 430 his longest. Donaldson – 3 homers, with 406 his longest, Morneau – 2 homers with 409 his longest, Cespedes – 3 homers with 418 his longest.

Swing off for National League, 3 balls – Frazier – 1 homer, Morneau – 0 homers, Frazier advances, Swing off for the American League 3 balls – Donaldson – 1 homer, Cespedes – 2 homers.  Frazier and Cespedes both move on.

**Round Two – Frazier – 6 homers, 415 his longest, Tulowitzki – 2 homers. Jones – 3 homers Cespedes – 9 homers, 416 longest

**Round Three — (National League) Stanton — 0 homers Frazier — 1 homer, 365 his longest. (American League) Bautista –  4 homers, 424 his longest Cespedes – 7 homers, 447 his longest.

**Final – Frazier – 1 homer against Cespedes – 9 home runs, 452 his longest.

2014 Champion is Cespedes, first back to back winner since Ken Griffey Junior in 1998, 1999





1 Comment

I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic.
I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for this information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: