Spring Training Thoughts and Past Memories

Been having a look though how the boys have been going over the last couple of weeks. Only four losses in among the games so far. Losses are expected now with returning to playing. I went and had a look through the roster and was surprised by the ages of the team. It’s a young squad but from what I can remember, most of them are returning players.

Living in Australia it hard to get a lot of sports from the USA if you don’t have paid television. They don’t play a lot of baseball here but I was able to take baseball thinking and apply it to learning the game of Cricket. It helped in getting the basics but now I can enjoy the game.

I love going to a baseball game and getting into the thinking of it all. The connection between the pitcher and catcher, the timing of being able to turn a double play. Seeing that very rare triple play. I would give anything to be at the park when a perfect game is thrown. I can only imagine how the tension is in the air, of the crowd and all would be so different, willing each ball that the pitcher throws to make it to the right place over the plate.

I was a kid when I was last at a ball park. It was the Cincinnati Reds game with a girlfriend from school. It was exciting and fun and lots to enjoy. I think then I was just wanting to be part of the experience and did not appreciate what unfolding before me. Why is it, years later you learn to appreciate those experiences that are special. I envy those people at the part the day Phillip Huber threw that perfect game. It was a special day and all those people witnessed something special. I hope I get to have that similar experience also.

Camelback Ranch looks like an amazing place and it has found its way on my Bucket List. Just to get up close and chat with the players. Get an autograph or two and some pictures. My thoughts wonder to the amazing man who this blog is dedicated to, Gary always planned a yearly trip to the ranch. He was such a Sox fan. His three oldest boys made the trip to the Ranch in 2011 when Gary was too ill to make the journey.  Gary did make it  long enough to see Opening Day before he passed away.  I would have given anything to have met him out at the Ranch for a game or two. From what I understand he was well-known by many of the players and management team.

This is one time of the year I get to missing home a lot. Missing that excitement and anticipation of planning a trip to the park, that first pitch, having a dog and a beer. Scoring the game in the program. I don’t do it very well, and it’s not correct but I can understand it and I find it fun to keep the score.

I realize that this has been a chat of random thoughts and views but it does not change the feeling of Opening Day at U.S. Cellular Field. The excitement that will be there as you enter the park. The nervous energy in the locker rooms as the time draws near to take the field and really get down to work for that one goal, to be there on that crisp fall day in October called the World Series.

 

Leave a Reply

